The Madhya Pradesh High Court is the High Court of the state of Madhya Pradesh which is located in Jabalpur.

History :- It was established as the Nagpur High Court on 2 January 1936 by Letters Patent dated 2 January 1936, issued under Section 108 the Government of India Act, 1935. This Letters Patent continued in force even after the adoption of the constitution of India on 26 January 1950 by virtue of Articles 225 & 372 thereof.

On 1 November 1956 the States Reorganisation Act, 1956 was enacted. The new state of Madhya Pradesh was constituted under S.9 thereof. Subsection (1) of Section 49 of the States Re-organisation Act ordained that from the appointed day i.e., 1 November 1956, the High Court exercising jurisdiction, in relation to the existing state of Madhya Pradesh, i.e. Nagpur High Court, shall be deemed to be the High Court for the present state of Madhya Pradesh. Thus Nagpur High Court was not abolished but by a legal fiction it became High Court for the new state of Madhya Pradesh with its seat at Jabalpur.

The court has a sanctioned judge strength of 53.

Madhya Pradesh High Court

Name Tenure
JUSTICE M. Hidayatullah 1954 to 1958
JUSTICE Ganesh Prasad Bhutt 1958 to 1959
JUSTICE P.V. Dixit 1959 to 1969
JUSTICE Bishambhar Dayal 1969 to 1972
JUSTICE P.K. Tare 1972 to 1975
JUSTICE Shivdayal P. Shrivastava 1975 to 1978
JUSTICE A.P. Sen 1978 to 1978
JUSTICE G.P. Singh 1978 to 1984
JUSTICE Goverdhanlal Jamnalal Oza 1984 to 1985
Justice J.S. Verma 14.06.1986 to 27.08.1986
JUSTICE Narayan Dutt Ojha 1987 to 1988
JUSTICE G.G. Sohani 1988 to 1989
JUSTICE Sushil Kumar Jha 1989 to 1993
JUSTICE Ullal Lakshminarayan Bhat 1993 to 1995
JUSTICE A.K. Mathur 1995 to 1999
JUSTICE Bhawani Singh 2000 to 2003
JUSTICE Kumar Rajarathnam 2003 to 2004
JUSTICE R.V. Raveendran 2004 to 2005
JUSTICE A. K. Patnaik 2005 to 2009
JUSTICE Syed Rafat Alam 2009 to 2011
JUSTICE Sushil Harkauli 2011 to 2012
JUSTICE Sharad Arvind Bobde 2012 to 2013
JUSTICE Ajay Manikrao Khanwilkar 2013 TO 2016
JUSTICE Hemant Gupta 2017 to 1.11.2018
JUSTICE Sanjay Kumar Seth 10.11.2018 to till now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *