The Meghalaya High Court is the High Court of the state of Meghalaya.

History :- It was established in March 2013, after making suitable amendments in the Constitution of India and North-Eastern Areas (Re-organisation) Act of 1971. Earlier, a bench of the Gauhati High Court had jurisdiction over the state of Meghalaya. The seat of the High Court is at Shillong, the capital of Meghalaya. The strength of judges as for this High Court is 3 permanent judges including the Hon’ble Chief Justice and 2 Hon’ble Judges. The current Chief Justice is the Hon’ble Mr. Justice Ajay Kumar Mittal who took oath as Chief Justice on 28 May 2019. The present Registrar General of the High Court of Meghalaya is Mrs. Belma Mawrie, a judicial officer of the state.

List of Chief Justices

# Chief Justice Tenure
Start End
1 T. Meena Kumari 23 March 2013 3 August 2013
2 Prafulla C. Pant 20 September 2013 12 August 2014
3 Uma Nath Singh 19 March 2015 14 January 2016
4 Dinesh Maheshwari 24 February 2016 12 February 2018
5 Tarun Agarwala 12 February 2018 2 March 2018
6 Mohammad Yaqoob Mir 21 May 2018 27 May 2019
7 Ajay Kumar Mittal 28 May 2019 Incumbent

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *